top of page
Search
  • alishatomac

First Diving Dog Lesson: What to expect


When coming for your first dock diving lesson, try not to have high expectations of your dog. I don’t mean this rudely, but there is a lot going on for a first time dog and every dog is different. Usually these lessons take place in a new building with new people and smells; this can be a lot of a dog to take in. If you are bringing a puppy, remember there is only so much focus going on in their brain. I tend to work a puppy for about ten minutes then back off for some fun play time of 5 minutes, then another ten minutes of work.


Try to set the bar to realistic goals, just like humans we don’t go to the gym and run a 6 minute mile off the bat. I usually aim for my clients dogs to successfully come down the ramp and up to their belly in the water; if they swim that’s a bonus. Every situation is different and every dog is different. I love to make sure that the dog and owner are comfortable and that the dog isn’t showing signs of stress.


Sessions where I train are either thirty minutes or an hour, how much is too much? If bringing a puppy I highly suggest a thirty minute session, again the focus of a puppy is low and I strive to make every experience positive and enjoyable. If you have two dogs, I usually suggest an hour, and then we can swap out dogs, giving an ample break for each dog. One older dog is tricky, if brand new to swimming I suggest thirty minutes and I usually asses from there. I had a GSD who booked a thirty minute session and around twenty minutes in, that’s when the confidence came out, his owner, moved him up to an hour. Be open and honest with your trainer and listen to them as well. I promise that when I say your dog is tried, I am not trying to run back and eat my red peppers and hummus (trust me that’s not the highlight of my day, so long are the days of potato chips and Cheetos). I am concerned for the safety and care of your pet. A tired dog can mean a slip or fall causing injury. If you go somewhere and you do not like their training method speak up, no one knows your dog better than you!


Now that we have some of the general basics down, what on earth should you bring with you?


Here is my standard list:


· Leash and collar

· Poop Bags

· Floating dog toys (check with facility they may offer them for use there)

· High value reward, such as cheese, hot dog bites, etc.

· Towels (both for you and the dogs)

· Extra set of clothes/ bathing suit

· Extra set of shoes (no one likes wet feet)

· Shot records

· Positive attitude


I hope this helps break down some of the questions you may have for a first time experience. If you have any questions, reach out! I’d love to help get you started in the sport of Dock Diving.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"So you just jump dogs into a pool?"

I get a lot of questions and looks when I say that I train diving dogs."Why on earth do people want to pay money for that?" Well, let me tell you. Competitive dog sports are growing in popularity, mai

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page